Utrecht University (UU):  A world leading University in the heart of the Netherlands. Our ambition to achieve a better future for everyone motivates our scientists in executing their world leading research and inspiring teaching. At Utrecht University, the various disciplines collaborate intensively towards four major societal themes; Dynamics of Youth, Institutions for Open Societies, Life Sciences and Sustainability. This lively and inspiring academic environment attracts professors, researchers, and PhD candidates from all over the globe, making both the University and the Faculty of Science a vibrant international community and wonderfully diverse.

At the Faculty of Science there are 6 departments to make a fundamental connection with: Biology, Chemistry, Information and Computing Sciences, Mathematics, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Physics.

At the Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science, chemistry and physics meet to study the properties of materials at the nanoscale. We specifically focus on three themes: catalysis, colloids and nanophotonics.

The group of Materials Chemistry and Catalysis (MCC), who is a partner in this project, focuses on the synthesis, characterization and performance of well-defined solid catalysts and related functional materials for energy storage and physicochemical conversion processes. The aim is to establish a relationship between structure and materials functionality at length scales ranging from the single atomic and molecule level over the micro-, meso- and macroscopic scale up to the level of small reactor set-ups.

Role in AMBHER

Catalyst development:  Design, synthesis, characterisation and testing of novel ammonia synthesis catalysts